Paleo and Modern Day Pumpkin Ice Cream

Today the pregnant lady wants to talk about ice cream, go figure.  Actually it was Bethany who started this with her post about fancy ice cream flavors last week.  I got to thinking about the eons of pumpkin puree in my freezer and just how it might make into a good ice cream.  And frankly, what this blog really needs is MORE pumpkin-related content.  1, 2, 3, 4, whee!  So first up I went with my standby B+J recipe, and then I decided to try a “paleo” variety too, just for kicks. Live on the edge, right?

Both are good.  You may be thinking, “ice cream?  Its cold outside!”.  But nay, my friend.  Ice cream makes an equally awesome dessert in cold weather as it does in the peak of summer.  If you don’t believe me, I dare you to try it.  🙂  And yet, who would eat pumpkin ice cream in the summer?  That just wouldn’t be right.  Seasonal ice cream flavors for the win.

So here are the two recipes.  Take your pick, they are similar… but different…

Modern Day (Sugar laden) Pumpkin Ice Cream

Pumpkin ice cream.  If a caveman had access to this, I assure you, he'd eat some too...

Pumpkin ice cream. If a caveman had access to this, I assure you, he’d eat some too…

  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 cups heavy cream
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Whisk the eggs till your forearm hurts (2 min).
  2. Whisk in the sugar.
  3. Add the cream, milk, pumpkin, and spices.
  4. Whisk some more.
  5. Freeze according to your ice cream machine’s instructions.

Notes:

If you like pumpkin spice lattes, this recipe is your friend.  The nutmeg and cinnamon definitely dominate over the pumpkin here, in a good way.

Paleo Pumpkin Coconut Ice Cream

Paleo Pumpkin Ice Cream

Paleo Pumpkin Ice Cream.

  • 2 cans full fat coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup maple syrup
  • 1 can pumpkin puree
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract (is this paleo?  leave out if not)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 tsp nutmeg

Directions:

  1. Mix it all together.
  2. Whisk some.
  3. Freeze according to your ice cream machine’s instructions.
  4. Eat.

Notes:

I put ‘coconut’ in the title because there’s really no masking of the coconut flavor in here. Luckily, I love coconut.  Some paleo diet versions allow heavy cream, so if that’s your thing, then by all means sub it for the coconut milk.

This ice cream is great straight from the machine, so be prepared to serve it right away.  It freezes solid in the freezer, and develops just a hint of weird taste after thawing back out.

This being my first taste of paleo ice cream, I have to say, I’m intrigued.  I want to try a few more options, maybe include some eggs next time, and also rethink my old coconut rum recipe. I think the coconut milk would be a shining star in that mix.

Tags: ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer
