December in Review

I guess it’s fitting that it’s New Year’s Day and I’m sitting down to write this post.  As you have probably noticed, the blog has been a bit quiet these past few months, particularly on my end, and I thought I’d bring you a few highlights of things that have gone on.  It was a CRAZY fall with lots of work events, trips to see family….a new CD.  Here’s a brief run-down in photos of the past month since my last real post on Thanksgiving Day.

First of all, my job with Kelly Minter included a couple of fun events…brief over night trips to Texas and New Jersey to play at events, as well as an amazing opportunity to play at the Daystar Ministry‘s “Evening In December” event alongside amazing musicians such as Ellie Holcomb, Ashley Cleveland and Buddy Greene.  I’m so blessed to work for such an amazing woman and we both felt so blessed to get to share the stage with such great folks!

Clockwise from top Left...jamming onstage at An Evening In December, the concert poster, Kelly and I geeking out in the balcony, and playing onstage at an event in New Jersey.  Not a shabby December at work!

Clockwise from top Left…jamming onstage at An Evening In December, the concert poster, Kelly and I geeking out in the balcony, and playing onstage at an event in New Jersey. Not a shabby December at work!

Besides getting to play with Kelly, I had the awesome opportunity to play for Andrew Peterson’s “Behold the Lamb Of God” shows at the Ryman Auditorium again this year.  It was a treat to get to share the stage with so many folks that I admire personally and professionally and to bring this beautiful show about the story of Christ to life once again.  I also got to play for a church in Huntsville, Alabama that was putting the program on themselves as a Christmas event.   Between the two, I performed BTLOG 7 times in one week!  Crazy!

The string section at the Ryman Behold The Lamb shows....extraordinary players and an amazing experience.  I'm on the end of the front row....apparently an "honorary cello."  haha.

The string section at the Ryman Behold The Lamb shows….extraordinary players and an amazing experience. I’m on the end of the front row….apparently an “honorary cello.” haha.

Onstage at the Ryman...the "Motherchurch of Country Music"

Onstage at the Ryman…the “Motherchurch of Country Music”

One thing that made the Huntsville shows extra special was that 15 members of my family came to see me play at one of the shows!  It was amazing to look out and see the entire front row taken up with my parents, both brothers, one sister, two sisters-in law, five nieces, one niece’s boyfriend, a nephew….and one more niece in the nursery.  We all got to eat lunch afterwards as well which was such fun.

Family Reunion!  So much fun to see these folks!

Family Reunion! So much fun to see these folks!

Nieces everywhere! Clockwise from top left: me with Chelsea and Camryn daughters of my sister Mary, me & Abigail and me with Emily (daughter's of Keith's brother) and Ashlyn, daughter of my brother Michael.  So much fun to see all these cuties over the holidays!

Nieces everywhere! Clockwise from top left: me with Chelsea and Camryn daughters of my sister Mary, me & Abigail and me with Emily (daughter’s of Keith’s brother) and Ashlyn, daughter of my brother Michael. So much fun to see all these cuties over the holidays!

Also in December, we said a sad farewell to my 2004 Hyundai.  She’d served me well for a long long time, but it was time to let her go as she had become a bit unreliable.  We found a really great deal on a new model of her though, and I’m loving my NEW Santa Fe.  Everything I loved about my old car…with some upgrades.

Out with the old (top), in with the new (bottom).

Out with the old (top), in with the new (bottom).

We also got to visit my family for the Christmas holidays which was fun.  Keith helped my dad install his new weather monitoring station, Mom accompanied me on guitar one morning in church, and I got to jam “twin fiddle style” with my Uncle Bill.  So blessed to have such a talented guy for an Uncle!  (You should buy his album….here)  And of course, I got to see Mary-Hall.  But you already knew that.

So it’s not my year in review, but it is my December….and I’m astounded that all of that could happen in the space of one month.  I hope whatever your 2014 holds that it’s full of health and happiness.  I know Mary-Hall and I are excited to be back in the blogging swing of things and look forward to spending another year with you all.

Happy New Year!

Tags: ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

2 responses to “December in Review”

  1. Mary-Hall says :

    AH! We are truly blogging soul mates. I just logged in to write my own December review and this pops up. Will post mine tomorrow!!

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Reviewing December Too | Two Girls Blog - 01/02/2014
