DIY “Peter Pan” Necklace

Over Thanksgiving, my niece Emily and I found ourselves with no plans and a yen for a good fashion-accessory craft project.  Fortunately, we were with Keith’s step-mom, Dreama, who is one of the craftiest folks I know and had access to the internet.  Emily is super fashion savvy (see the end of the post for a collage of all the different ways she fixed my hair) and mentioned that she’d really like to make a Peter Pan Collar Necklace.  We did a quick Google image search, and found this particular blog post on “D & I (Design & Inspire) by Laurdiy” that looked not only easy, but like it would turn out a high-quality end product.  We printed out the pattern (and a coupon to JoAnn’s) and headed off to buy some beads.

The necklace-making process and a shot of the finished product.  Isn't my sweet Emmy so beautiful?

The necklace-making process and a shot of the finished product. Isn’t my sweet Emmy so beautiful?

The whole project was fairly cheap, simple, and really fun.  I’d for sure recommend creating with a friend though as gluing all those little beads in place takes a while.  I had lots of fun listening to Emily chatter away about school and friends while we worked.  And, because it’s simple but still stylish, it’s good for miniature and grown-up girls alike (except you might want to monitor tiny friends around the glue gun.)  We spent about $7 total (with our 50% off coupon) and made two necklaces.  Our materials included:

*grosgrain ribbon for neck tie (We stole ours from Dreama’s craft supply closet, but a roll only costs about $1)

*a tub of multi-sized pearl beads (about $6)

*2 beige colored felt squares (per necklace – 29 cents each)

*needle and thread

*hotglue and glue gun

Here are the basic steps that we used:

1. Print out the pattern from D & I and trace it onto the felt.  Cut out two of the felt pattern.  One to glue the beads on, and one to glue on the back to make it look more finished.

2. Cut two same-size pieces of ribbon to use as ties (measure on yourself depending on how long you want the necklace to hang down and how big a bow you want in the back.  I think this is a personal preference thing.)

3. Using the needle and thread, sew one ribbon onto the “back side” (just choose one) of each end of the felt pattern.  Then glue the second piece of felt on the back over the ribbons to make it look finished.

4. Hotglue beads onto the front of the felt collar.  We chose to mix sizes and loved the effect it made.

Wear and enjoy!

A few days later I got these photos with the text "Got my Peter Pan swag on."  Seriously though, isn't she so beautiful?

A few days later I got these photos with the text “Got my Peter Pan swag on.” Love this kid.

If only she lived closer and could be my stylist every day....

If only she lived closer and could be my stylist every day….

Tags: , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.

2 responses to “DIY “Peter Pan” Necklace”

  1. Barbara Daniel says :

    Cute craft idea! And LOVE the sideways/diagonal braid!

    • bethanybordeaux says :

      It was a great craft! Would be great too for an older VBS crowd like 5/6th graders. She’s so good with the braiding! I can’t figure out that fancy stuff.

