Paint Color Selection

I know everybody has been dying to know which color of gray paint we went with, after trying 8 or so different options all over the living room walls.  And we have made a selection, I believe.

Its practically the neutral-est neutral there ever was, I guess.  No risk taking here – this is the Switzerland of paint colors.

Its so neutral that although I liked the looks of the paint chip in the store, I hesitated to try it for fear of being too boring.

The paint is named…

you’ll be shocked by this.

Dragon’s Mist.

..

..

.

.

Nope I’m kidding.

.

.

.

Its called “Off white”.

off_white

In our wacky house with all the fluorescent tube lighting, ‘off white’ does in fact look like a pale gray.  Its certainly an upgrade from the current ‘butter’ color.  And best of all, it doesn’t clash with the 51 cabinets that are already painted a green/gray/khaki color.  And since there are 51 of them, and the paint is in perfect condition, THEY will not be repainted.  They will be worked around.

But agh, is ‘off white’ too bland for all 57,000 square feet of wall space in this room?  Maybe.  But perhaps we have enough going on between the brick and the wood trim and the wood floors.  A little ‘Blah’ may be just the ticket.  Sure hope so.

Here’s a shot of the ‘off white’ right next to some cabinets.

IMG_3113

What we have here is a partially constructed kitchen desk area, which just one step in the plan for the baby nursery.  Hopefully we’ll finish this little project this week, and move on to stuff like putting the crib together.

Oh side note, the reason why I know we have 51 cabinets is because I just ordered new hardware for them.  NOW for the risk taking.

martha_brassBRASS!  Goodbye brushed nickel.  The knobs will go on the cabinet doors, which means I’ll have to fill 51 now-extraneous holes and paint over them.   Sounds like a perfect maternity leave project, doesn’t it?

Tags: , , ,

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer

2 responses to “Paint Color Selection”

  1. Barbara Daniel says :

    You can never miss with “off white!” 🙂 Shoot, I’ve been changing out my brass for brushed nickel – I must have missed the e-mail about that one – not to mention that I’ve been seriously considering repainting in “butter!” I’d better start watching more HGTV.

  2. bethanybordeaux says :

    OK….So I actually WAS kind of dying to know. And, Mom, your kitchen is fabulous with it’s brushed nickel which is still very in (although, MH, I’m loving your hardware choice! so great!)…so don’t worry for one second. haha.

