The Not Dinner Party

One of the things I most love about Nashville is the creative community and nontraditional work atmosphere that I’m surrounded by.  So many people here are involved in the arts or events or some other occupation where work doesn’t mean sitting behind a desk from 8-5, which often leads to really interesting collaborations and projects.

When Keith and I got married just over four years ago, our dear friend Hannah Blanton (Hannah Elaine Photography) was an easy pick to hire as our wedding photographer.  Not only is she a kind and fabulous individual, but her photos capture moments in an almost photo-journalistic way.  We were thrilled with the images from our big day..all those special moments frozen forever…and my sweet friend Jessica even hired Hannah for her wedding the next year (a photo of Jess and all her bridesmaids is still the first photo that pops up when you click on Hannah’s page.)

Husband and Wife!  One of my favorite hots by Hannah Elaine Photography from our Dec 2010 wedding.

Husband and Wife! One of my favorite shots by Hannah Elaine Photography from our Jan 2010 wedding.

Hannah and her husband John are often our partners in crime for everything from canoeing to improptu trips to the art museum (John was one of Keith’s roommates back in both of their bachelor days) so when she needed a shoot location (and a few “models”) Keith and I were game to offer up our backyard and gather a few friends. It wasn’t the first time that we’d had a wedding-related-backyard-dinner party: just a couple of years ago we hosted the wedding rehearsal dinner of our dear friends Bubba & Erin, so naturally we were thrilled that they could be part of this shoot!  It was a sentimental nod to their big day and great to catch up.  Hannah’s husband John and our good friend Keely sat in as “models” as well and the six of us had a blast sitting around our table in the backyard while Hannah snapped photos right and left.

I just thought I’d pass along some fun photos for you to enjoy…and I might have one or two more related posts up my sleeve in the coming days, so be sure to check back.

Cheers: To friendship and fotoshoots.

Cheers: To friendship and fotoshoots.

Cake balls and wedding cake by Frosted Affair. I love that the photo on the wall behind the cake is an actual wedding photo that Hannah shot over 4 years ago at my wedding!

Cake balls and wedding cake by Frosted Affair. I love that the photo on the wall behind the cake is an actual wedding photo that Hannah shot over 4 years ago at my wedding, as well as a sweet photo of my grandparents off to the left.

L to R: Erin, Keely and Me.  Thankful for the sweet friendship these girls bring to my life.

L to R: Erin, Keely and Me. Thankful for the sweet friendship these girls bring to my life.

Gift boxes by Batch.  We were so excited to receive a box with lots of local personal care products and an adorable dishtowel!

Gift boxes by Batch. We were so excited to receive a box with lots of local personal care products and an adorable dishtowel!

Wish my table looked this amazing all the time!

Wish my table looked this amazing all the time!

Bubba and Erin....these two crack me up to no end.  So fun to have a second Bordeaux/Frizzell backyard dinner party.

Bubba and Erin….these two crack me up to no end. So fun to have a second Bordeaux/Frizzell backyard dinner party.

Paper goods by Maria of Green Bean Paper co.  Such a fun girl and such adorable paper goods.

Paper goods by Maria of Green Bean Paper co. Such a fun girl and such adorable paper goods.

Nothing brings me more joy than watching my husband laugh.

Nothing brings me more joy than watching my husband laugh.

Thanks Hannah for this sweet portrait of Keith and me.  Love this man.

Thanks Hannah for this sweet portrait of Keith and me. Love this man.

Nothing better than fresh flowers!!

Nothing better than fresh flowers!!

L to R: Keith, Me, Keely, John, Erin & Bubba.  The "model" squad.

L to R: Keith, Me, Keely, John, Erin & Bubba. The “model” squad.

You can check out more images from the shoot on Hannah’s blog by clicking here.  And check out our amazing vendors as well!  They were all amazing to work with and the best at their craft.  (I’m trying to come up with an excuse to hire Hayley to come make my face look pretty again.)  And you don’t have to be getting married to use their services.  They’d be happy to help you out with any type of party or gift needs.

Hayley Bidez Makeup Artistry – Model Hair and Makeup

Events by Elaine – Product Staging and Table Design

Caroline of Batch Nashville  – Guest Party Favors

Maria & Green Bean Paper Co – Invitations, Name Cards

Mary Love & Rosemary & Finch – Floral Arrangements

The Bride Room – Girl’s dresses

Southern Events  – Linen and Tableware Rentals

Frosted Affair  – Cake and Cake Pops

Reuben Victor – “Peace in the Valley” Signature cocktail

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.
