Cultivate: A Women’s Gathering Around The Word

Cultivate Web Banner v1

I remember the first time I went to a women’s conference.  I was 23 and the sister-in-law of a friend of mine had invited me.  I’d told her no a few times….I didn’t really “do” women’s ministry…I thought women’s events were only for middle aged women with perfectly coiffed hair who had memorized half the Bible, prayed for others 24 hours a day, and never made any mistakes.  I was a newly minted college graduate with big dreams and little direction and couldn’t imagine what I would have in common with anyone else in attendance.  Plus there was that tiny issue of the admission fee.  I was playing violin at churches and weddings on the weekends and working part-time as a sales clerk at a high-end children’s boutique during the week.  Neither of these jobs brought in a whole lot of money and I figured paying my electric bill was more important than buying a ticket to an event.  The third time I tried to decline the invitation, an “extra ticket” magically appeared and I found myself agreeing to be picked up after dinner the following Friday night.

The speaker that weekend was a young, vivacious Bible teacher named Priscilla Shirer who spoke truth to places in my soul that I didn’t even know needed it.  A month or so later, the director of my church’s women’s ministry asked if I would be interested as serving as the first ever “young women’s” rep on the 25-member women’s ministry committee, to which I agreed (although to this day, I feel that I was an unlikely candidate).  When Priscilla returned to our church a year or two later, I found myself leading worship for the conference instead of being the scared kid sitting in the back of the room.  But when I moved to Nashville, I moved here for music and for a new town, not for anything to do with women’s ministry.  I’d enjoyed my time serving on the committee but it honestly never occurred to me that it would circle back around and end up taking center stage in my life.  But then the opportunity to work for Kelly Minter came along and I am so blessed to be part of seeing ladies lives impacted each day.  And I’m grateful daily for those ladies that poured into me ten or so years ago.

They say that hindsight is 20/20 and as I look back to the hours I spent planning a “Bible Study Introduction Tea” and prepping for the annual women’s conference, I recognize that those experiences weren’t happenstance; they were preparing me for the tasks that I do on a daily basis at work.  But never has my women’s ministry journey come into play more than this summer as I work to plan the first ever “Cultivate: A Women’s Gathering Around the Word.” It has been on Kelly’s heart for a while to create an opportunity for women to come together and study the Word and worship in a simple environment.  Kelly will be teaching three sessions and our dear friend Michelle Margiotta will lead worship (Adam Moritz who produced my album will jump in on acoustic guitar and I’ll round out the trio on violin).  And because Kelly loves the people of the Amazon jungle dearly, all proceeds from the event will go to benefit the work of Justice & Mercy International, the organization that I traveled to Brazil with last year.

If you are in the Nashville area, or looking for a fantastic weekend get-away with friends, I invite you to be part of this event.  If you think that women’s events aren’t really your jam, I would encourage you to step out and join us anyway.  Sometimes the thing you don’t think you need is EXACTLY the thing you need, and we pray you’ll feel comfortable in our simple and contemplative environment  And if attending feels like a perfectly natural thing for you to do, I’d ask you to consider bringing someone else along.  You may never know the impact that an invitation (and a ticket) might make on a person.  And isn’t that what we’re called to do as Christians?  To pour into one another?  To encourage and build one another up?  We know there are so many things vying for your time and attention, but we pray that you’ll choose to spend a few hours with us in August.  Event information is below and you can purchase tickets HERE or by clicking on any of the event logos.  If you have any questions, you can leave a comment below or email me at info@kellyminter.com

Cultivate Widget v1

What:

Biblically focused and stylistically simple, this will be a time to seek God’s Word, worship with an elegant trio of musicians and enjoy the warmth of community.  This event features Bible Teacher Kelly Minter and worship leader Michelle Margiotta.  All proceeds will support the work of Justice and Mercy International.

When:
7:00pm-9:00pm – Friday August 15
9:00am-12:30pm – Saturday August 16

Where:

Rolling Hills Community Church ~ Franklin, TN

Tickets:

Tickets can be purchased online HERE, or in person at Rolling Hills Community Church or by calling their box office at (615) 861-3663.  All tickets are general admission.  For group ticket purchases of 10 or more, it is possible to reserve seating together. Please contact Bethany Bordeaux at info@kellyminter.com to reserve your group seating, or with any questions you may have about the event.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.
