Fashion Forward for Fifteen

Some of you who follow me on social media were less interested in the juice part of my juice-fast photos and more interested in my hair.  Some of you were loving the bangs, a few of you thought the new dark color looked great and the majority wanted to know….had I cut it? or was it just pulled back?  No one could be sure.  So I’m taking to the blog to set the record straight, and bring you a fashion-related post for 2015.

I’m still rocking the bangs I got cut almost 2 years ago, I didn’t add any color to my hair (to be fair…I think the Instagram filter made it look extra dark), but YES….I did cut it.  I big time cut it.

The juice-fast photo that sparked the haircut discussion.

The juice-fast photo that sparked the haircut discussion.

I am not in the least bit the girl who spends time on her hair or makeup.  I attempt to look somewhat cute and up-to-date, but only if it isn’t difficult and doesn’t take a whole lot of time or effort.  About 5 years ago, I found a hair stylist I really liked and started getting haircuts on a somewhat regular schedule which was a pretty big deal in my world.  And then, in March of 2013…I took a big step and cut bangs…coincidentally on the same day that Mary-Hall got bangs as well.  Great minds, and long-time friends, think alike, apparently, even 7 hours apart.

I don’t know quite what got into me, but I went for a regularly scheduled haircut appointment the other day and decided I wanted some thing a little bit different.  I’d kind of fallen in love with the look that Taylor Swift has been sporting lately (no matter your opinions on her music, her dating life, or her recent move to New York, you gotta admit, she always looks fantastic.) and wondered if I could pull off something similar.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 1.07.52 PM

Recently, Taylor has been hopping around sporting this cute haircut styled a variety of ways…sometimes curly, sometimes bangs to the side….

But as tends to happen when I hop in the chair, I got a case of hair-fright.  I got a cut, but just a slightly shorter version of what I had.  Still cute, but in my mind, it kind of looked like I went half-way.  So I made another appointment 4 days later and went in and Got. It. Cut.  My stylist was armed with a file of Pinterest hair photos and assured me that the “Lob” (thats the “long bob”) was totally what was coming in for 2015.  And it’s true.  Everywhere I look, I’m seeing images like this of varying lengths.  On commercials, on internet clothing-store websites, in my neighborhood coffee shops.

IMG_0174 IMG_0177 IMG_0176

This photo is the one that made me say, "can you make me look like her?"

This photo is the one that made me say, “can you make me look like her?”

As I scrolled through her photos, I came across the last one above that totally sealed the deal.  “Yes, please, can you make me look like that?”  All in all, I took off about about 8 inches.  The floor of the salon looked like a small herd of guinea pigs had gathered at my feet.  I had that same “I love it, I hate it, I love it again” reaction that I experienced when I cut my bangs.  All my family and close friends seemed to be of the opinion that “it’s super cute but it’s drastic and weird to see it on you” which was how I felt too.  But the more I wear it, the more I love it.  It’s more labor – intensive styling – wise than my old haircut, BUT…that’s not really a deal breaker.  Besides, I never really “fixed” my old hairstyle, and when I did….it certainly didn’t “keep” well.  This new style takes a little time after I wash it, but then it basically holds it’s style until I wash it again which is HUGE.  No more throwing my hair on top of my head in a half-ponytail, half bun and pinning my bangs back with 80 bobby pins.  I feel put-together even if I’ve got on pjs which is nice….because, well, I like wearing pjs.  So here’s to short hair and looking sassy in 2015.

My new hair for 2015.  Showing off my "Lob" on a date night with Keith.

My new hair for 2015. Showing off my “Lob” on a date night with Keith.

Also, for anyone interested in doing a similar cut, here’s a peek at my styling-routine.  I wash my hair, towel dry and spray with a generous amount of Bumble and Bumble’s  “Tonic Lotion Primer.”  Then I work through a nickle sized blob of B&B “Grooming Creme” and brush my hair straight to make sure all the product is worked in.  I blowdry my bangs first using a brush and pushing from one side to the other to give some body.  Then I blowdry the rest of my hair…I divide it into locks and twist each lock into a tight strand and dry it.  (At this length, it really doesn’t take that long.)  Once my hair is mostly dry (with a hint of wave to it) I twist the locks again, spray each with surf spray, fluff it out and blowdry on low anything that isn’t already completely dry.  If you want a stronger curl/wave, I’d suggest following up with a one inch barrel curling iron or curling with a flat iron afterwards.

IMG_0200

Tools of the trade. Bumble and Bumble’s “Tonic Lotion Primer” “Grooming Creme” & “Surf Spray.”

 

 

 

Tags: , , ,

About bethanybordeaux

I fiddle around a bit.
