Two Girls Turned Forty

Hello old blog. Today, the fourteen day of August, 2022, Bethany Bordeaux turned forty years old. I wondered last night if I could surprise her by posting to our old blog… Was our old blog still up and running, out there on its own in a dusty corner of the internet? Could I remember the password? Turns out…. yes and yes! Sure, neither of us have been her for 6-7 years but the internet doesn’t forget. And so, for old time’s sake, here’s a post to commemorate our thirties and bookend the decade.

In the last 7 years, stuff has changed and also hasn’t. Bethany and I are still friends, duh. We still live in the same houses. We both have different jobs. We don’t see each other nearly as often as we used to.. But we did get to spend a few hours together earlier this year!

Throw a pandemic plus a couple extra kids in the mix and there’s just not nearly as much free time to randomly pass through or do anything else I guess. About those extra kids, we DID pull of something pretty impressive about 4.5 years ago. We managed to both welcome home baby daughters, within three months of each other. So yes, now we’re are actually four girls, and maybe one day, after they become best friends, they can start their own joint venture as they turn 30, in whatever the 2048 version of blogging is (yeesh shudder to think). And when they do, you best believe we’ll both be there commenting even if I have to make an account just for that purpose.

So how will we celebrate turning forty? Bethany already pulled off an kid free trip to NYC, so that’s a pretty good start. I looked back at my ‘turning 30’ list and maybe have an idea or two including but not limited to:

  • Get bangs again
  • Try a new fad diet… intermittent fasting perhaps?
  • Join TikTok
  • Tattoo?
  • Get scuba certified
  • Write a book
  • Read a book
  • Marie Kondo the entire house
  • Start going to bed earlier
  • Try melatonin

See what happened there? My list devolved from aspirational to basic 40 year old pretty fast but there we are. I’m going to keep thinking about a goal or two for this year, but in the meantime…

HAPPY BIRTHDAY BETHANY!!!!

I hope your day was fabulous and I look forward to another decade of adventures. Multiple people have told me that 40s are the new 30s.. guess we’ll find out!!

About Mary-Hall

loyal southerner, exceedingly frugal, compulsive DIYer